Spotted: Stobart Truck in Libya

I wouldn’t say that I’m a petrolhead or a trucking enthusiast. However, I do know that drivers of Eddie Stobart trucks are expected to wear a shirt and tie, and that they are required to return the wave of anyone waving at them. I also know there’s a big fan club, keen to hear about unusual sightings. So when I saw one parked up at the side of the road in downtown Benghazi as I returned from an interview, there was only one thing to do.

“Hang on Tam,” I said to my guide. “I need to take a picture of this.”

We screeched to a halt as I briefly explained that the truck was also from Carlisle (Tam, my fixer, driver, translator, bodyguard, was born in Carlisle, but that’s another story) – one of those other facts that I seem to know about the haulage company. And then I set off across a stinking, rubbish-infested wasteland to find the driver and ask exactly what he was doing in Libya.

Turned out he was around the back, unloading a massive consignment of, erm, eggs. He wasn’t wearing regulation shirt and tie, but I did eventually manage to coax him into a wave. Although not in the photo.


8 thoughts on “Spotted: Stobart Truck in Libya

    1. Actually, I’ve seen none. I have not doubt that there were several thousand mercenaries among the Gaddafi forces. Good sources tell me about 10,000 of them. However, I have not laid eyes on any – or at least any that can be verified. Rebel commanders have told me they have captured some, but then not allowed me to see them.

  1. Thanks.
    I was skeptical about there being any mercenaries. I recall David Cameron talking about them, and then Ed Miliband in the House saying there was clear evidence that there were mercenaries, so I thought there must be something in it.

    Then recently I heard John Simpson mentioned ‘supposed’ mercenaries – and he was on the ground – and I wondered again.

    Who are the good sources that gave you the information?

    1. Diplomats. Can’t really say more than that. But the estimate was that Gaddafi had 15,000 troops – at the time just before the fall of Tripoli – of which 10,000 were mercenaries. The problem is that the anti-Gaddafi forces claim that any soldier with dark skin is a foreign mercenary, when in fact many Libyans have dark skin. So separating fact from propaganda is difficult. I suspect that’s why Simpson used term “supposed”.

Leave a Reply

