South Asia Reading Challenge

One of the joys about moving from Africa to South Asia is the massive array of  writing connected with this part of the world, in contrast with my old home – where the history and legends were passed on by mouth until much more recently. So I thought I’d kick off a South Asia Reading Challenge to help me find new books and old classics about the place. The rules are on a dedicated page, where I’ll be listing participants and their chosen books.

Here is my preliminary list of six titles that I will read and review this year:

  1. Dateline Islamabad by Amit Baruah – memoir of an Indian journalist in Pakistan
  2. Mountains of the Murgha Zerin by Elizabeth Balneaves – British mother and son travel around Pakistan
  3. Stilettos in the Newsroom by Rashmi Kumar – apparently this sort of thing is big in India these days
  4. My Life With the Taliban by Abdul Salam Zaeef – story of the former Taliban ambassador to Pakistan
  5. A Corner of a Foreign Field: The Indian History of a British Sport by Ramachandra Guha – the history of South Asia, told through its cricket (possibly lost in the post)
  6. Curfewed Night: A Frontline Memoir of Life, Love and War in Kashmir by Basharat Peer – on every notable list of books published in 2010, so I figured it should be on mine too

This isn’t meant to be exhaustive or indicative of anything. I’ll be reading other books too. I just wanted a bit of a mix. So if you think that my list is rubbish, suggest a better one and get started…


11 thoughts on “South Asia Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

