Quiet for Now

Things quiet this morning. My local coffee shop is reassuringly busy and there’s a steady stream of traffic on Ngong Road heading into town. After yesterday’s trouble, stamped out pretty heavily by police, everyone is expecting more of the same today. The police tactic is to shut things down before things can get started. They were teargassing crowds of ten and fewer at times. The protesters, not surprisingly, are reluctant to go up against police armed with AK-47s so ended up boxed into the slums… a long way from their target of Uhuru Park. But they succeeded in their secondary goal of shutting down the central business district yesterday afternoon. Police ended up clearing the whole of the city centre – office workers, hawkers et al – just to make sure protesters hadn’t snuck in.


One thought on “Quiet for Now

  1. First they came for the Communists, but I was not a Communist – so I said nothing. Then they came for the Social Democrats, but I was not a Social Democrat – so I did nothing. Then they came for the trade unionists, but I was not a trade unionist. And then they came for the Jews, but I was not a Jew – so I did little. Then when they came for me, there was no one left who could stand up for me.”

Leave a Reply

