Things Not to Say to a Rebel Commander – An Occasional Series

This series is inspired by a moment last week when my slick journalist’s poise deserted me. Briefly. It is not the first time and probably won’t be the last. Anyway, it happened as I introduced myself to a rebel commander via telephone.

ME: So where are you?

REBEL COMMANDER (VIA SATPHONE): Erm. Erm. Who did you say you were again? (CLEARLY WONDERING WHETHER I AM ABOUT TO CALL IN AN AIRSTRIKE) Can I just say I am in Darfur?

The rest of the conversation was stilted. 


Leave a Reply

